Who we are

AVENIA is the only competitive cluster covering all underground industrial sectors, bringing together more than 260 members (large groups, ETIs, SMEs, startups, self-employed workers, laboratories, training organizations, universities and engineering schools, federative structures and local authorities) with the aim of building sectors of excellence, in particular through support in setting up collaborative R&D projects. AVENIA is supported by the French government, the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region, the Pau metropolitan area and the Pau Béarn Pyrénées Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Mines & Quarries
Geological storage
Oil & Gas
Natural hydrogen
- Affiliated members

Our team

AVENIA's operational activities rely on a team of employees with complementary skills (geosciences, communication, project management, etc.).

Thibaut Heimermann

General Manager

Lionel Huang

Development Manager

Lise Servat

Communications and Events Manager

Emmanuelle Robins

Europe and International Projects Manager

Jérôme Gouin

Project Manager - Mines & Quarries, Geotechnics, Hydrogeology

Nicolas Gonthier

Project Manager - Oil & Gas, Geothermal energy, Geological storage

Leonora Knecht

RDI Project Manager, Hydrogeology, Acceptability, Environment

Pascale Naddeo

Executive Assistant

Paloma Calice

Scientific Communications Manager

Thibaut Fleury

Research Engineer


AVENIA is chaired by Jean-Loup Minebois (Teréga), supported by two Vice-Chairmen, a Secretary and a Treasurer. The Executive Committee is a direct offshoot of the Board of Directors, and is responsible for steering AVENIA in conjunction with the team.

Jean-Loup Minebois


Jean-Louis Olivet


Laurent Escaré


Xavier Lopez


Christophe Derail


Marc Blaizot


Olivier Peyret


Luc Pauget


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of 28 members, elected for 3 years by the General Meeting of members, and divided into 3 Colleges: "Companies", "Research and training organizations", "Federative structures". It defines AVENIA's strategy and major orientations.


  • Fokus Energy Yann Douarin
  • Storengy Laurent Escaré
  • Real Time Seismic Marc Blaizot
  • INT Jean-Louis Olivet
  • EODD Laurent Vallet
  • SLB Olivier Peyret
  • Terega Jean-Louis Minebois
  • TLS Geothermics Mathieu Auxietre
  • Total Energies Luc Pauget
  • Vermilion Xavier Lopez
  • Spotlight Habid Al Khatib
  • EDF Laurent Leveque
  • Arverne Pierre Brossollet

College Research and training organizations

  • BRGM Laurent Rouvreau
  • ENSEGID Adrien Cerepi
  • ESC PAU Group Marc Prigent
  • ENSG Judith Sausse
  • IFPEN Yannick Pesson
  • Mines Paris Tech Laurent Gerbaud
  • UPPA-IFISOR Christophe Derail

College Incentive and federative structures

  • AFPG Jean-Jacques Graff
  • ADI Béatrice Robin
  • Chemparc Audrey Lebars
  • Helioparc Olivier Farreng
  • USG Pascal Chassagne
  • SGF Isabelle Moretti
  • MI-F Sandra Rimey

Expert committee

An independent body made up of experts from the worlds of industry, research and finance. It is responsible for examining and evaluating R&D projects to be accredited by AVENIA, and can be called upon at any time by the team to provide advice and guidance on technical issues.

  • BRGM Laurent ANDRE Research engineer, hydrogeochemist
  • ACCENTA Quentin BARRAL Geothermal energy, Research materials, hydrogeochemist
  • ARVERNE RESOURCES Damien BEVILLON Reservoir engineering/research production, hydrogeochemist
  • INDEPENDANT (retired BRGM) Mario BILLA Mines & Quarries
  • INDEPENDENT (retired TOTAL) Marc BLAIZOT Geology, exploration
  • IFPEN Christian BLAZQUEZ Process, R&D Projects
  • TEREGA Cécile BOESINGER Process Engineering
  • GFZ POTSDAM Claire BOSSENNEC Geothermal energy, heat storage
  • GEO3CONSEIL Sébastien BOUTAREAUS Geomechanics
  • AQUITAINE ELECTRONIQUE Renaud BRIAND Electronics, R&D projects
  • BRGM Frédérik BUGAREL Drilling, hydrogeology, geothermal energy, post-mining
  • GEORESSOURCES / U. Lorraine Guillaume CAUMON Geomodeling
  • LATEP Pierre CEZAC Thermodyn. processes
  • INDEPENDENT (retired TOTAL) Philippe COFFIN Petroleum engineering, R&D projects
  • GEORESSOURCES / U. Lorraine Philippe DE DONATO Geochemistry
  • FLODIM Philippe DELAPLACE Logging, salt cavities
  • ENSEGID Alain DUPUY Hydrogeology
  • STORENGY Patrick EGERMANN Reservoir and well engineering
  • HYDROGENE DE FRANCE Hanane EL HAMROUI Mechanical engineering, H2
  • LMAP/UPPA Jean-Matthieu ETANCELIN Applied mathematics
  • VERMILION REP SAS Pantxika ETCHEVERRY HSE, regulations
  • GEOLINKS Jean-Charles FERRAN Geophysics
  • UPPA (LMAP) Mauro GAIO Deep learning
  • CVA WELLS Grégory GALDIOLO Well operations, integrity
  • BRGM Sylvie GENTIER Rock mechanics
  • MINES PARISTECH - PAU Laurent GERBAUD Civil engineering, drilling
  • ZABALA Valérian GOBE Project development and management, tax incentives
  • INDEPENDENT (retired TOTAL) Alain GOULOIS Petroleum engineering, R&D projects
  • KERDOS ENERGY Mehdi GUELLIL Processes, environment, financing, energy transition, carbon neutrality
  • CONSULTANT Patrick GUILLEMINOT Hydrogeology
  • CAPGEMINI Mikaël LEFEVRE Digital transformation
  • AD TERRA ENERGY Eric LEOUTRE Reservoir engineering
  • INDEPENDENT (retired TOTAL) Hervé MADEO Marine engineering
  • CONSULTANT (Febus) Christophe MAISONS Geophysics, microseismics
  • MODIS Luisana MARCANO MAGO Well operations
  • BRGM Guillaume MARTELET Gravimetry, Airborne geophysics
  • INDEPENDENT (ret. TEREGA TOTAL) Jean-Louis OLIVET Processes, industrial projects
  • ZABALA Tiphaine PENHOUET Tax incentives, financing mechanisms
  • IPREM/UPPA Hugues PREUD'HOMME Analytical chemistry
  • INDEPENDENT (retired TOTAL) Jean-Marc RODRIGUEZ Geophysics, exploration
  • Retired BRGM Bruno TOURLIERE Geology
  • INDEPENDENT (retired TOTAL) Rémy TRUCHETET Reservoir engineering
  • EODD Laurent VALLET Geology, environment
  • POWELTEC Alain ZAITOUN Chemical engineering/reservoir